Amrap's AirIt | Australian Music Radio Airplay Project :: Pop :: Nick Batterham - Dead End

Community Radio’s Australian Music Catalogue and Distribution Service

Australian musicians, record labels and artist representatives can apply here to get music distributed through Amrap's AirIt.

Any Australian community radio program maker or station music coordinator can apply for a free AirIt account to order music for airplay. Login to order an instant download.

Anyone else can browse Amrap's AirIt but only authorised radio users can login to access and order music for free.


Nick Batterham - Dead End

Nick Batterham - Dead End
Self Inflicted, No Sympathy is the brand new album by Melbourne singer-songwriter Nick Batterham.

This is Nick's fourth solo album in less than 5 years, his third in 3 years. Returning to the themes of 2013's Closing Time At Yah Yah's, this album is packed full of sixteen intimate songs, sparsely arranged with acoustic guitar, piano and strings.

Self Inflicted, No Sympathy is another high water mark in the long career of the former Blindside, Earthmen and Cordrazine member. Batterham recorded this album himself from November 2014 to March 2015, with guest appearances by Jane Hendry (Broads, Nymphs, Tiger And Me) on violin and Gareth Skinner (bZARK, The Holy Sea) on cello.

With the world-weariness of Elliott Smith or Nick Drake, Batterham’s plaintive vocals express raw emotions that take us deep inside late night lives falling apart. This territory is covered with care for subtlety and beauty. For the most part Batterham is softly spoken and close. Lyrically, the songs are brooding, with self-awareness delivered with minimal embellishment. Even when most bleak, there is hope and joy. The songs are short and melodic, but beware what you sing along to as there are some shadowy elements at play here.

About this track...

Sharp-edged acoustic guitar smashes it's way through 2 minutes of dark pop. With a colourful film clip shot in the neon streets of Bangkok.

Other tracks by Nick Batterham: All The Hearts You Break  -  Is This What You Meant?  
Number Of People In Act 4 Piece
State/Territory Artist Is Based In VIC
Taken From The Release Titled Self Inflicted No Sympathy
Copyright Holder's Name Popboomerang Records
Publisher Nick Batterham
Media Servicing Date 2015-07-17
Main Genre Pop
Contains explicit lyrics or themes that may offend some listeners No
Artist Official Web Site
Artist Social Network Page
Online Store Page 1
Content Provider Popboomerang